Central Appalachia HCV Coalition

The Community Liver Alliance Central Appalachia HCV Coalition’s first meeting was held on March 21, 2018, in Charleston, WV. Representatives from Pennsylvania, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia State Department of Health Viral Hepatitis and the State Community Health organizations attended. The goal of the meeting was to promote opportunities to network and share information about challenges and potential responses to address the HCV epidemic and as it relates to the opioid crisis in Central Appalachia.

 

An update was given by the Department of Health Viral Hepatitis Division and from the State Community Health organizations. The second part of the day was spent in organized discussions to identify common areas where we can make an impact. Our ability to share information and network showed the great work that the individual states are doing. We agreed that working together will enable us to make a greater impact on our collective states.

PowerPoint Presentations 

Viral Hepatitis in Kentucky
HCV Screening and Treatment in WV Community Health Centers
Hepatitis C in Tennessee
Hepatitis C in Ohio
Perspectives on HCV Treatment Capacity Tennessee
Hepatitis C Screening Through Cure Among KHCN Members

We intend to host a series of webinars on topics that came up during the meeting. This is a good way for us to continue our dialogue and to work together to expand our combined activities. Below is a list of those who attended the meeting. Our first Webinar is going to feature the work that Kentucky has done to address the issues discussed.

Central Appalachia HCV Coalition Meeting Attendee List

Kathy Sanders, RN, MSN

Adult Viral Hepatitis Prevention Coordinator

Kentucky Department for Public Health

275 E. Main Street

Frankfort, KY  40621

Kathyj.sanders@ky.gov

502-564-3261

 

Jennifer NeSmith, MBA, CMPE, CEO

Kentucky Health Center Network

P. O. Box 1127

Sterling, KY  40353

Jennifer.nesmth@kyhcn.org

859-274-7115

 

Robert Brawley, MD, MPH, FSHEA

Infectious Disease Branch 
Division of Epidemiology and Health Planning 

Kentucky Department for Public Health

275 E. Main Street

Frankfort, KY  40621

Robert.Brawley@ky.gov

502-564-3261 x4235  

 

Clint Koenig, MD, MA, MSPH

Medical Director

Ohio Department of Health

246 High Street

Columbus, OH  43215

Clint.koenig@odh.ohio.gov

614-466-3543

 

Cheryl Bumgardner, RN

Clinical Quality Improvement Manager

Pennsylvania Association of Community Health Centers

1035 Mumma Road, Suite 1

Wormlesyburg, PA  17043

cheryl@pachc.org

717-616-6443 x208

Kirstin Waller, MD, MPH

Surveillance Section Head

Deputy State Epidemiologist

Pennsylvania Department of Health

H&W Bldg., 625 Forster Street, Room 933

Harrisburg, PA  17120

kwaller@pa.gov

717-787-3350

 

Cathy Goff, MSN, BSN RN

Viral Hepatitis Prevention Director

East Tennessee Regional Health Office

710 James Robertson Parkway

Nashville, TN  37243

Catherine.goff@tn.gov

615-532-8516

 

Febe Wallace, MD

Director of Primary Care

Cherokee Health Systems

2018 Western Avenue

Knoxville, TN  37921

Febe.Wallace@cherokeehealth.com

865-934-6734

 

Sandra Graham, BSN, RN

Viral Hepatitis Education Coordinator

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Services

1 Davis Square, Suite 100E

Charleston, WV  25301

Sandra.j.graham@wv.gov

304-558-5358

 

Emma White, RN

Clinical Quality Improvement Coordinator

West Virginia Primary Care Association

1700 MacCorkle Avenue, SE

One South

Charleston, WV  25314

Emma.white@wvpca.org

304-531-3365

Planning Committee

Suzanna Masartis

Executive Director

Community Liver Alliance

412-400-9343

Suzanna@communityliveralliance.org

 

Judith Feinberg, MD

West Virginia University

Professor of Behavioral Medicine & Psychiatry

304-293-5861

judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

 

Ronald Valdiserri, MD, MPH

724-260-0476

rovaldiserri@gmail.com

 

Sarah Schillie, MD

Division of Viral Hepatitis,

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention

Center for Disease Control

404-718-8608

sschillie@cdc.gov

Central Appalachia HCV Coalition Educational Webinar

 Keep Up | Connect

100 W. Station Square Drive, Suite 1945, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |   412-742-4051   |  support@communityliveralliance.org

© 2016 Community Liver Alliance   |